Ashby August Sales Show Wide Price Gap Between $290,000 And $705,000 Homes
ASHBY -- Eight properties recorded deeds in Ashby between July 31 and August 29, with disclosed prices ranging from $290,000 to $705,000 and a median of $475,000. Two of the month's transfers, including one that moved a property into a family trust, closed without a recorded sale price.
MARKET OVERVIEW Eight sales were recorded in Ashby during the period, according to South Middlesex Registry of Deeds records. Six of the eight included a disclosed price; the other two did not, which is common for deed records and does not necessarily indicate an unusual transaction. Among the six disclosed sales, prices ranged from $290,000 for 679 Main St to $705,000 for 522 Greenville Rd, with a median of $475,000. Eight recorded transfers is a modest volume for a single month in a small town, and with a third of the sales lacking a disclosed price, the sample available for judging typical sale values is limited to six transactions.
TOP SALES 522 Greenville Rd sold for $705,000 on Aug. 13. Tracy A. Bitondo was the seller; Joseph Hadfield and Adrienne Frongillo were the buyers.
191 Allen Rd sold for $634,000 on Aug. 5. Jamie Baker was the seller; Travis and Allison Hilton were the buyers.
544 South Rd sold for $575,000 on July 31. Eino S. Pernaa and Kim L. Anderson were the sellers; Craig Lashua was the buyer.
600 Main St sold for $375,000 on Aug. 25. Amanda M. Urmann was the seller; Keith Cronyn and Emma L. Sherman were the buyers.
121 Wares Rd sold for $330,000 on Aug. 6. David and Amanda Mcavene were the sellers; Nathan D. Buiwit was the buyer.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN Main Street accounted for two of the month's eight sales: 600 Main St at $375,000 and 679 Main St at $290,000, the two lowest disclosed prices of the period. No other street had more than one recorded sale. By price tier, the six disclosed sales split evenly: three sold below $500,000 (679 Main St, $290,000; 121 Wares Rd, $330,000; and 600 Main St, $375,000) and three sold between $500,000 and $1 million (544 South Rd, $575,000; 191 Allen Rd, $634,000; and 522 Greenville Rd, $705,000). No sale in the dataset topped $1 million or fell below $250,000.
MARKET NOTES Two of the eight recorded transfers carried no disclosed price, and both involved a buyer and seller sharing a surname. The deed for 152 Foster Rd moved the property from Bruce A. Gove to Jared A. Gove, trustee, and the Bruce A. Gove Irrevocable Trust. The deed for 35 Whitney Rd transferred the property from Yvonne K. Schow to Paul Sanford Schow. Deed records do not indicate the reason for either transfer. Beds, baths and square footage are not part of the deed record and are not available for any of the eight sales, so no price-per-square-foot comparison can be made this period.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 31 | 544 South Rd | Pernaa Eino S; Anderson Kim L | Lashua Craig | $575,000 |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 3 | 35 Whitney Rd | Schow Yvonne K | Schow Paul Sanford | Not disclosed |
| Aug 5 | 191 Allen Rd | Baker Jamie | Hilton Travis; Hilton Allison | $634,000 |
| Aug 6 | 121 Wares Rd | Mcavene David; Mcavene Amanda | Buiwit Nathan D | $330,000 |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 13 | 522 Greenville Rd | Bitondo Tracy A | Hadfield Joseph; Frongillo Adrienne | $705,000 |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 21 | 679 Main St | Erban Kimberley; Erban Christian | Mcwilliams Justin J | $290,000 |
| Aug 21 | 152 Foster Rd | Gove Bruce A | Gove Jared A Tr.; Bruce A Gove Irrevocable Trust | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 25 | 600 Main St | Urmann Amanda M | Cronyn Keith; Sherman Emma L | $375,000 |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.